• Title: The Alchemy of Murder
  • Author: Carol McCleary
  • Released: 2011-03-01
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 480
  • ISBN: 0765361752
  • ISBN13: 978-0765361752
  • ASIN: 0765361752
From Nellie Bly goes in search of Jack the Ripper in Paris, falls in love with Jules Verne, weasels her way into Louis Pasteur’s lab, and finds a fast friend in Oscar Wilde. The Eiffel Tower is newly erected for the 1889 World’s Fair, which is in full swing, and a maniacal slasher, transplanted from London, has more destruction on his depraved mind than cutting up prostitutes: nothing less than the utter desolation of Paris by plague. Well over the top in believability, often awkwardly phrased (“What did that mad Russian anarchist leader have in mind?”), and often broken up with clumsy authorial interjections of footnotes and historical explanations, McCleary’s debut historical suspense novel still has one big thing going for it: it showcases an appealingly flesh-and-blood Nellie Bly, one of the first women to break into a man’s world as an adventurous and plucky investigative journalist. Fans of Arruda’s Jade Cameron and Bowen’s Mollie Murphy mysteries will enjoy Bly, another unflappable female sleuth. Let’s hope McCleary works out the rough spots by the next episode. --Jen Baker --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review 'Packed with historical detail and humour' -- Elle 'Meet Nellie Bly, America's first female investigative reporter. She's feisty, funny, opinionated, persistent, and as tough as any male she meets. She has to be, because in The Alchemy of Murder, she's swept through a tale of peril and pursuit that is sure to keep you turning pages long after you should have been asleep. You'll find yourself on the mean streets of nineteenth century New York, in Victorian London and in Paris as the Eiffel Tower rises and deadly things -- men and microbes -- stalk the streets. It is a dazzling entertainment, so well constructed -- and it has Oscar Wilde too!' -- William Martin 'Carol McCleary does for the City of Light what Ann Perry has done for Victorian London and what The Alienist did for 19th century New York. A gripping, atmospheric, electrifying masterwork!' -- Barbara Wood 'Meet Nelly Bly, investigative reporter, self-assured, gutsy and funny, in her first outing. THE ALCHEMY OF MURDER is a brilliant debut full of historical detail and peril which will entertain you right till the last page. Can't wait to read more of her adventures' -- David Headley --This text refers to the edition.

Thanks to Youmusic we now have beautiful, consistent musical needs every day. Our customers are happy and engagement has drastically increased. Highly recommend!

Mikayla Miller
Grand Rapids, Michigan

Why Youmusic?

Confident

Discover 100% more confident content.

Simple

We provide 24x7x365 support with knowledgeable Youmusic staff answering your requests.

Selected

Build selected relationships with your customers.

I have to say this is probably the best platform I have seen of its kind.

Hailey Delarosa
Loomis, California

Meet the Youmusic team

Juan Pablo Montoya

Tyson Delarosa

Full Stack Developer

Kyle Zimmerman

Peyton Prescott

Developer

Cheryl Collins

Tristan Rotella

CFO

Juan Pablo Montoya

Alexander Perez

CEO

Kyle Zimmerman

Nikolai Havens

Automation Specialist

Cheryl Collins

Alejandro Mason

CCO

Youmusic is the real deal. No doubt about it.

Sidney Campos
Owensboro, Kentucky

Our Clients